STA News Keep up to date with all the latest news

Go for a Scottish Thistle Award

Do you know a business or an individual who goes that extra mile to provide customers with exceptional service?

The Scottish Thistle Awards are Scotland’s premier awards for the tourism industry.

For the past 25 years, more than 360 national winners have been crowned at the event, recognising those who have made valuable contributions to the sector.

They celebrate success, innovation, excellence and best practice in Scotland’s tourism and hospitality industry.

Past winners include Hebridean Celtic Festival, Dewar's Aberfeldy Distillery, Foxlake Adventures, Eilean Donan Castle, Loch Earn Tourism Information BLiSS Trail 2017 and Laggan Outdoor Activity Centre.

Nominate a business or individual today – or if you consider yourself a worthy recipient, then enter using the online form at

Entrants are shortlisted by a panel of industry experts and the finalists then go head-to-head at special regional ceremonies held in the Autumn. Winners then go on to represent their respective region in the glittering national Scottish Thistle Awards National Final held next year.

The full 14 regional categories are:

• ScotRail - Best Visitor Attraction

• Fishers - Most Hospitable Hotel

• Bruce Stevenson Insurance Brokers - Most Hospitable B&B/Guest House

• Best Self-Catering Accommodation

• Best Eating Experience

• Best Bar / Pub

• Regional Ambassador

• Best Outdoor/Adventure Experience

• Working Together For Tourism

• Tourism & Hospitality Hero

• HIT Scotland - Regional Rising Star

• Best Cultural Event or Festival

• Historic Environment Scotland - Best Heritage Tourism Experience

• Innovation in Tourism Award

The two national-only categories are:

• Best Business Event

• Best Sporting Event

The Scottish Thistle Awards is led by a panel of industry experts from several organisations including VisitScotland, Aberdeen City and Shire Tourism Awards, Highlands & Islands Tourism Awards, the Hospitality Industry Trust Scotland, Scotland Food and Drink, Scottish Tourism Alliance, the Scottish Licensed Trade Association, sportscotland and Wild Scotland.

The deadline for nominations across all categories is Friday 22 June 2018 and nominees will then have until Friday 29 June 2018 to enter.

To nominate, enter or for further information on the Scottish Thistle Awards visit:

Last Modified: Tuesday 29 May 2018 05:57
Related Articles: New Scottish Charity for Hospitality Calls for Culture Change ​STA responds to Scottish Government's tourist tax plans Getting down to Business - Shortlist for Best Business Event at Scottish Thistle Awards unveiled New Scottish Charity Is Asking Employers To Back Health this Blue Monday ​Scottish Government announces £300k funding boost for Ayrshire & Clyde tourism STA responds to Scottish Government draft budget Rising stars of tourism Young talent recognised at Scottish Thistle Awards Mission to strengthen European visitor markets for Scottish tourism The Launch of the Scottish Knowledge Exchange Awards 2019 Launch of the Scottish Knowledge Exchange Awards 2019